Managing Body

The eeef is managed by the Board of Directors, which has the exclusive power to administer the Fund and to determine the course of conduct of its business affairs, in compliance with the articles, the issue document and applicable laws and regulations. The Board shall have the broadest powers to act in any circumstances on behalf of the Fund, subject to the powers expressly assigned by law or the articles to the general meeting of shareholders. The Board of Directors will have prime responsibility for all aspects of the administration of the business of the Fund.

The directors are elected by the general meeting of shareholders and appointed annually, subject to approval by the CSSF of any new directors. The current Board of Directors consists of the following members:


Giorgio Chiarion Casoni is Head of Unit DG Economic and Financial Affairs at the European Commission. He joined the European Commission in 1994 and since then has held various positions with the DG for Economic and Financial Affairs. In his current position, he is responsible for various projects in financing of climate change, infrastructure policies and Euratom.

Mr Casoni holds a Degree with honours in Statistics, Probability, Mathematics, Economics and Econometrics from Universita degli Studi di Roma (La Sapienza).


Robert Nuij is a deputy Head of Unit for energy efficiency policy and financing at the European Commission, with joint responsibility for implementing the Energy Efficiency Directive and the Energy Efficiency First principle, and for scaling up financial support for energy efficiency measures across the EU.

Since joining the Commission in 2006, he has held various positions including on ecodesign and energy labelling policy, energy performance of buildings, integrated product policy and product safety.

Before joining the Commission, Mr. Nuij worked as a senior consultant for an international environmental consultancy with an emphasis on environmental product policy, eco-design and waste management. He holds a Master of Science degree in Industrial Design Engineering from the Delft University of Technology.

Imke Krieger is an independent board member in various investment funds (mainly AIF/RAIF), based in Luxembourg. She has broad expertise in different asset classes (i.e. renewable energy, infrastructure, real estate, aircraft, private equity) and market conditions, as well as in-depth structuring and financing knowledge from previous employment.

Prior to her current position Mrs Krieger worked as a senior project manager in asset finance and leasing at Deutsche Bank AG from 1999 until 2013.

Mrs Krieger holds a Diploma in Economics from the University of Dortmund, Germany.